American Bankruptcy Institute
Join Renew Refer a Colleague Partners Search ABI Store Contact Us Site Map
American Bankruptcy Institute
About ABIABI MembershipMeetings & EventsOnline ResourcesPublicationsNews RoomConsumer Bankruptcy Center
 Print this page

Tower Automotive CEO to Keynote ABI’s Second Annual Corporate Restructuring Competition Nov. 11-13

October 21, 2005, Alexandria, Va. —The American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) will hold the second corporate recovery competition for top business schools Nov. 11-13, 2005 at the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois. Kathleen Ligocki, Tower Automotive’s CEO since 2003 and during its restructuring, will be the keynote speaker at the first-night dinner on Nov. 12. Ligocki, a veteran of the auto industry, was previously Vic President for Business Development at Ford Motor Co.

The competition provides second-year students with a unique chance to learn by solving a real-world problem. The event, hosted by one of the nation’s elite business schools and sponsored by the premier educational insolvency institute, will provide students opportunities to network with some of the nation’s top professionals in the fields of finance, corporate renewal and restructuring accounting. Top corporate recovery specialists and financial professionals from around the country will serve as judges. They include:

  • Fred Caruso (Development Specialists Inc.)
  • David Heller (Delaware Street Capital)
  • Matt Niemann (Houlihan Lokey Howard & Zukin)
  • Rebecca Roof (AlixPartners)
  • Anthony Schnelling (Bridge Associates)
  • Nancy Shanik (Citibank)
  • Phil Van Winkle (Giulian: Capital Advisors)

Winning teams will receive prizes of $5,000 — first place, $3,000 — second place, $1,750 — third place and $1,250 — fourth place. The first place school will also receive the Bettina M. Whyte Trophy, named in honor of the ABI’s Past President and a Principal at AlixPartners in New York. The international investment banking firm Houlihan Lokey Howard & Zukin will again serve as a corporate sponsor for the event.

Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business won the trophy as the top business school in ABI’s first competition.

Twelve top business schools already confirmed to compete this year include University of Chicago Graduate School of Business, the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, the Haas School of Business at the University of California-Berkeley, the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, New York University Stern School of Business, Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, Columbia University Business School, Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College, the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University, the Ross School of Business at University of Michigan, the Sloan Graduate School of Business at Stanford University and Yale University School of Management. Columbia, Dartmouth, Duke and Yale are making their first appearance in the competition.

More information about ABI’s second annual corporate restructuring competition is available online at Learn about competition details, rules and the case problem from last year, and view photos from the 2004 competition.


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, non-partisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency.  ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues.  The ABI membership includes over 11,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information.  For additional information on ABI, visit ABI World at  For additional conference information, visit



© 2014 American Bankruptcy Institute, All Rights Reserved